Teaser

Integrated drive solution for explosive atmosphere zones

ENGEL Elektroantriebe presents ATEX versions of its HBI synchronous motor

As a specialist for customer specific designed synchronous motors, with the HBI series ENGEL Elektroantriebe delivers high performance integrated drive systems for low-voltage systems. Within the framework of a custom specific development for the customer Mettler-Toledo Garvens GmbH the manufacturer also designed the HBI drive for explosive atmosphere applications according to ATEX 95 (Directive 94/9/EC). At the same time ENGEL Elektroantriebe extended its internal quality management to include the explosion protection requirements according to EN ISO 80079-34. Because of this the company is qualified as an expert partner for explosive proof electric drives.



The HBI synchronous drives from ENGEL Elektroantriebe are high performance three-phase systems with integrated control electronics for 24/48 VDC. Typically the HBIs are used as compact low-voltage solutions for multi-axis applications - such as to convey, transport and position. One of the benefits is a high resolution angle detection with linear Hall sensor system, which makes it a dynamic, precisely controllable drive with a steady torque development. The HBI drive can achieve speeds of up to 4000 rpm and torques of 3.1 Nm. Depending on the model, the output power from 53 to 485 watt is available.

As a long-term customer of ENGEL Elektroantriebe the company Mettler-Toledo Garvens GmbH once again shows more interest in the integrated drives from Walluf. However the HBI system were required in an ex-protected version for use in the food and packaging industry. Thorsten Germersdorf, product manager with the manufacturer for dynamic control scales, can remember: "Thanks to the long term reliability and product quality, ENGEL Elektroantriebe GmbH was our first contact with this complex project." At the beginning of 2013 the development engineers in Walluf took on the challenge and produced an ATEX version of the HBI synchronous drive.


These drive systems went through the EC conformity assessment procedures and in February this year were certified according to ATEX 95 (Directive 94/9/EC). The customer can now apply the explosion proof drives in their dynamic checkweighing systems for the pharmaceutical, chemical and food industry. Germersdorf also stresses that "the partnership and enormous flexibility of ENGEL Elektroantriebe has strengthened tremendously the customer - supplier relationship". And his colleague Nils Berkefeld, customer project manager at Mettler-Toledo Garvens GmbH, also adds: "The technical implementation of the HBI drives with the explosion-proof version now gives us many possibilities, to solve the ATEX requirements of our customers."


Ideally positioned for explosion proof projects

With the development of an integrated drive system according to ATEX, ENGEL Elektroantriebe has created a key competitive advantage for its customer. For the Managing Director Mr. Thomas Preußer this opens a door of opportunity: "Future requests from new customers now builds on a well-established process and can be effectively implemented." During the course of the ATEX project, ENGEL Elektroantriebe improved its existing quality management system to incorporate the explosion protection requirements according to EN ISO 80079-34 and adapted the operational processes accordingly. During the process of the ATEX certification valuable experience was gained and is now available for other tasks.


Compact design

Also the ATEX versions of the HBI drives from ENGEL Elektroantriebe are convincing due to their compact design. The control and the setpoints are all done over the CANopen® interfaces. Basically, the positioning of the integrated drive systems support both absolute and relative targets. It is referenced to the limit switch, mechanical stop or to the current position. Setting the parameters is done using the serial interface RS232 via the PC-Windows software DSerV. The synchronous drive is connected by rotatable connectors with one or two plugs. In addition, they are designed for ambient temperatures up to 40 °C and comply with the protection type IP65.

With the integrated three-phase synchronous motors from ENGEL Elektroantriebe, machinery and equipment manufacturers have a high quality drive solution "Made in Germany". And thanks to their precise closed-loop control electronics and the perfect customer-specific adaptations they are perfect for your environment - whether explosive atmosphere or not.




News

New series HFI

Image The new HFI drive series offers increased power, support for the most important fieldbus standards and integrated safety „STO“ in a compact design. [more]

UL Recognized

After successful completion of the tests, we can now also offer our latest motor series HBR with UL approval. This extends the spectrum to a total of three series - BSM, HLM and HBR.

TÜV - ISO 9001:2008



Social commitment

As ENGEL Elektroantriebe we are aware of our social responsibility and, amongst others, support the German Cancer Aid and the Aktion Mensch.

TÜV - ISO 9001:2008



TÜV - ISO 9001:2008







ENGEL Elektroantriebe GmbH, 2019-06

Teaser

Integrierte Antriebslösung für Ex-Zonen

ENGEL Elektroantriebe präsentiert ATEX-Ausführung seiner HBI-Synchronmotoren

Als Spezialist für kundenspezifisch ausgelegte Synchronmotoren liefert ENGEL Elektroantriebe in seiner HBI-Baureihe leistungsstarke integrierte Antriebssysteme für den Kleinspannungsbereich. Im Rahmen einer Auftragsentwicklung für den Kunden Mettler-Toledo Garvens GmbH realisierte der Hersteller nun auch HBI-Antriebe für Ex-Anwendungen nach ATEX 95 (Richtlinie 94/9/EG). Gleichzeitig erweiterte ENGEL Elektroantriebe sein internes Qualitätsmanagement um die Explosionsschutz-Anforderungen nach EN ISO 80079-34. Damit empfiehlt sich das Unternehmen auch als kompetenter Partner für ex-geschützte Elektroantriebe.



Die HBI-Synchronantriebe von ENGEL Elektroantriebe sind leistungsstarke Drehstromsysteme mit integrierter Regelelektronik für 24/48 VDC. Sie kommen beispielsweise als kompakte Kleinspannungslösung für mehrachsige Anwendungen zum Einsatz - etwa zum Fördern, Transportieren und Positionieren. Zu ihren Vorteilen gehört eine hochauflösende Winkelerfassung mit linearem Hallsensor-System, die sie zu dynamischen, präzise regelbaren Antrieben mit gleichmäßiger Drehmomententwicklung macht. Die HBI-Antriebe erreichen Drehzahlen von bis zu 4000 min-1 und Drehmomente von 3,1 Nm. Je nach Modell stellen sie Leistungen von 53 bis 485 Watt bereit.

Als langjähriger Kunde von ENGEL Elektroantriebe zeigte das Unternehmen Mettler-Toledo Garvens GmbH einmal mehr Interesse an den integrierten Antrieben aus Walluf. Allerdings benötigte man die HBI-Systeme als ex-geschützte Ausführung für den Einsatz in der Nahrungsmittel- und Verpackungsbranche. Thorsten Germersdorf, Produktmanager beim Hersteller von dynamischen Kontrollwaagen, erinnert sich: "Aufgrund der jahrelangen Zuverlässigkeit und Produktqualität war die ENGEL Elektroantriebe GmbH unser erster Ansprechpartner bei diesem komplexen Projekt." Anfang 2013 nahmen sich die Entwicklungsingenieure in Walluf der Herausforderung an und realisierten eine ATEX-Variante der HBI-Synchronantriebe.


Diese Antriebssysteme durchliefen das EG-Konformitätsbewertungsverfahren und wurden im Februar dieses Jahres nach ATEX 95 (Richtlinie 94/9/EG) zertifiziert. Der Kunde kann die ex-geschützten Komplettantriebe nun in seinen dynamischen Kontrollwaagensystemen für die Pharma-, Chemie- und Lebensmittelindustrie einsetzen. Germersdorf betont außerdem, dass "die partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und enorme Flexibilität von ENGEL Elektroantriebe unser Kunden-Lieferanten-Verhältnis nachhaltig positiv gestärkt hat". Und sein Kollege Nils Berkefeld, Kundenprojektleiter von Mettler-Toledo Garvens GmbH, ergänzt: "Die technische Realisierung der HBI-Antriebe in explosionsgeschützter Ausführung bietet uns nun viele Möglichkeiten, die applikativen ATEX-Anforderungen unserer Kunden zu lösen."


Bestens aufgestellt für Ex-Projekte

Mit der Bereitstellung eines integrierten Antriebssystems nach ATEX hat ENGEL Elektroantriebe seinem Kunden einen wichtigen Wettbewerbsvorteil verschafft. Für Geschäftsführer Thomas Preußer ist damit zugleich eine Tür aufgestoßen: "Zukünftige Anfragen neuer Kunden bauen nun auf einem etablierten Prozess auf und können effizient umgesetzt werden." Denn im Zuge des ATEX-Projekts hat ENGEL Elektroantriebe zudem sein bestehendes Qualitätsmanagementsystem um die Explosionsschutz-Anforderungen gemäß EN ISO 80079-34 erweitert und die betrieblichen Abläufe entsprechend angepasst. Der im Rahmen der ATEX-Zertifizierung gewonnene Erfahrungsschatz steht damit auch für weitere Aufgaben zur Verfügung.


Kompaktes Design

Auch die ATEX-Ausführungen der HBI-Antriebe von ENGEL Elektroantriebe überzeugen durch ihre kompakte Bauweise. Ihre Ansteuerung und die Sollwertvorgaben erfolgen über CANopen®-Interfaces. Grundsätzlich unterstützt die Positionierfahrt der integrierten Antriebssysteme sowohl absolute als auch relative Zielvorgaben. Referenziert wird auf Endschalter, mechanischen Endanschlag oder auf die aktuelle Position. Für die Parametrierung über die serielle Schnittstelle RS232 kommt die PC-Windows-Software DSerV zum Einsatz. Angeschlossen werden die Synchronantriebe über drehbare Steckverbinder mit einem oder zwei Abgängen. Außerdem sind sie ausgelegt für Umgebungstemperaturen von bis zu 40° C und entsprechen der Schutzart IP65.

Mit den integrierten Drehstrom-Synchronmotoren von ENGEL Elektroantriebe erhalten Maschinen- und Anlagenbauer hochwertige Antriebslösungen "Made in Germany", die sich dank ihrer präzisen Regelelektronik sowie kundenspezifischer Anpassungen perfekt in ihre Umgebung - ob Ex-Atmosphäre oder nicht - einfügen.




Aktuelles

Neue Baureihe HFI

Image Die neue Antriebsbaureihe HFI bietet gesteigerte Leistung, Unterstützung der wichtigsten Feldbus-Standards und integrierte Sicherheit „STO“ in kompakter Bauform. [mehr]

UL Recognized

Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss der Prüfungen können wir nun auch unsere neueste Motoren-Baureihe HBR mit UL-Zulassung anbieten. Damit erweitert sich das Spektrum auf insgesamt drei Baureihen - BSM, HLM und HBR.

TÜV - ISO 9001:2008



Soziales Engagement

Als ENGEL Elektroantriebe sind wir uns unserer sozialen Verantwortung bewusst und fördern unter anderem die Deutsche Krebshilfe.

TÜV - ISO 9001:2008



ENGEL Elektroantriebe GmbH, 12/2018